History of the village
Until 1789, the forest of Gourdouze (on which is now the Mas de la Barque) belonged to the priory of the same name. At the time of the French revolution, it became the property of the State until 1853, at which time a notable of Génolhac acquired it.
In 1865, the construction of two buildings was undertaken: the dwelling house (now the 24-place residence) and a stable of 27 meters long (now a restaurant).
The forest was bought by the state in 1880 following the laws on floods and their impact and entrusted to the administration of water and forests (today National Forestry Bureau).
Some keys dates :
In 1965, creation of the alpine ski resort at Mas de la Barque.
September 2, 1970, creation of the Cevennes National Park.
After the decline of the Alpine Ski business, due to the decline in snow and low profitability of the resort, in 2000, it is scheduled a conversion to outdoor resort. The winter activities will be refocused on cross-country skiing, with a reflection on a new route of the tracks, snowshoeing and dog sledding. An ambitious site rehabilitation program is underway with the agreement of the Cévennes National Park and the National Forestry Bureau.
In 2001, start of the redevelopment of the site.
In 2003, construction of the Mas house (reception and information center) and the village of lodgings.
May 2005: opening of the gite village for rent.
The Mas de la Barque becomes, at the beginning of the third millennium, an example of what ecotourism of tomorrow may be, for a clientele open to discover an exceptional natural environment, traditions and a very strong local cultural identity.